i didn’t care

I started my run in the storm.

Harsh wind in my eyes,

And rain in my hair.

But I ran to the beach

I didn’t care that there was no one there;

I didn’t care.

And I trudged up that cliff through the hail.

As the demons of winter pushed me back

I didn’t fail.

I didn’t care that at the top

There was nobody there.

Nobody there,

I didn’t care.

And I waded through that stream and I cried,

Because something inside me

Suddenly had died;

And I needed somebody to be there,

I needed that someone to care

As the sun showed up to caress my hair

And warm me through, 

It spoke to me.

I needed you.
Lissy Lis 2016

Leave a Reply

